Traditional Archery Gear – Bowhunting Preparation


Source: Stick & String Adventures Podcast – Episode 28 – Archers Roundtable

The Continuing Conversation between

thumpin_turkey

Nick Viau – I do own a sixty-two inch longbow and I like sixty-two’s in the woods, but…  I actually thought that a sixty-two was going to be a huge advantage in the woods until I actually got our there and realized it didn’t make a bit of difference at all.

“I think my problem has been going through all these different bows, yet I never make a decision”

Ned Miller – I hear that.  I have to say…  I don’t know if it’s confession time or not, but here it comes.  I don’t know if this qualifies me or not either, but…  All the time I’ve been out hunting.  It’s not as often as I’d like to.  I’ve missed three deer.  I missed three times.  I missed high, I missed low, and I missed in the front.  As frustrating as that is, they’ve all been with three different bows.  Now, I’m to the point where, I’m going to make this bow.  I’m going to stick with this bow, and I don’t care if it kills me, until I get accurate with one specific bow and then take game with it.  I think my problem has been going through all these different bows like we’ve been talking about.  Yet, I never make a decision.

Jason Albert – That’s the problem with you bowyers.  All you bow makers out there…  Every time you make a new bow, it’s your new favorite bow.  So you’re always learning on new bows.

Ned Miller – Yup, and I never get enough practice in with it.

Nick Viau – I totally agree with you.  This is the first thing I learned from some of the guys when I told them that I want to start bow hunting in the fall.  I wasn’t even going to hunt that season.  I got talked into it.  By the time I figured it out, everybody said, “Alright is that’s the bow that you’re going to hunt with?”  I said, “Well I only got one bow.” They said, “Start shooting it the way you’re going to hunt with it.  Shoot what arrows you’re going to hunt with.  With the quiver on it or off it. Pick however you’re going to do it and start doing it now and don’t change it until you’re out of season.”  I totally echo that.

I missed three deer last year.  Two of the deer I had tags for just last year.  Both of them were perfect shots. I used a different bow both times.  All season long I was moving back and forth between bows.  I had the R-D (Reflex-Deflex)bow that I was shooting that was around fifty-two inches.  One day I had a quiver on it, the next day I didn’t.  The next day I wanted a mojo shift so I moved over to another bow.  Missed a deer with that one because obviously I hadn’t been shooting it.  Finally I got rid of both of them for the year and I went back to my stick bow and I shot that one for the rest of the year.

“You’re going to remember what you’ve been doing the most.”

I was also jockeying arrows around.  I was shooting woods at first and for some reason I switched to aluminum because my confidence was off and I needed some consistency to get back on target. I missed both of those deer with an aluminum arrow. I missed both of them high.  Right over the back.  I ended up shooting the wood arrows.  I have been watching the wood fly all year round.  I was programmed to shoot a wood.  When I moved to aluminum it screwed everything up.  I don’t care if you go out right before a hunt and you shoot a few to get your mind right.  It don’t matter.  When you got buck fever, you revert back to your most primal state of shooting.  Your most subconscious state.  You’re going to remember what you’ve been doing the most.  If you have been shooting the wood or aluminum and you shoot the opposite, you’re not going to have success.  That’s what is going to happen.  You’re going to miss.  Unless there’s a divine intervention.

Jason Albert – I listen to your stories and I have to say that those are nice problems to have.  Every time I went hunting, I never even saw a deer during season.

“All the flip-flopping around and moving around and changing things isn’t going to be beneficial for you for a long time.”

Ned Miller – That’s a really good point. I wish that I would have seen more deer too.  That’s a good point, man.  I think that’s probably the one thing we need to make recommendations on too.  Sure, you have to try different bows.  You have to try different arrows.  But, at some point you have to stick with something and try to get efficient with it.  All the flip-flopping around and moving around and changing things isn’t going to be beneficial for you for a long time.  Of course, you have to do it at first to figure it all out.

About rasherquivers

Owner/Operator of Rasher Quivers www.RasherQuivers.com
This entry was posted in Archery Education and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

