Archery: The Walk of Shame


RangeImagine: You are shooting in a league or some sort of archery competition.  The first line steps up and shoots their three arrows, then you step up with the second line to shoot your three arrows.  Now, everybody walks to the targets to score their shots, then walks back to the line and does it again.  The first line shoots.  Now, you step up with the second line to shoot, but realize you left your arrows in the target.  The Range Master shouts, “Hold the line!!”  while you walk all the way back to your target, pull your arrows, and walk all the way back to the line.  The whole time, everybody is looking at you while making jokes at your expense.  That is the “Walk of Shame.”

This walk has become a habit of mine over the last few weeks.  I have had to take the “Walk of Shame” several times during my local archery league and at our clubs Championship Shoot.  I have done it so often that everyone is reminding me while we are scoring to pull my arrows.

The way I was taught…  If you are keeping score, you don’t pull the arrows.  Those that are not scoring are responsible for pulling the arrows, unless asked not to.  In my situation lately… Both archers have been keeping score which leaves no one to pull the arrows or the other archers haven’t had the courtesy explained to them.  None-the-less, it is my responsibility to make sure that my arrows are where they are suppose to be.  This is a habit that I am going to have to get use to.  Unless, I enjoy the “Walk of Shame.”

Leave a comment below and let us know what embarrassing moments you have had during your competitions.

Like the Rasher Quivers on Facebook at:

Click here to visit our Website

Click here to visit our Website

About rasherquivers

Owner/Operator of Rasher Quivers www.RasherQuivers.com
This entry was posted in Archery Education and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Archery: The Walk of Shame

  1. charleslopez says:

    I shot 4 arrows instead of 5 on my last end this past weekend, didn’t realize it until we walked up to score. Felt a little ‘tupid…

  2. Angie says:

    I have one particular athlete i coach who has a habit of doing this at least once or twice a tournament. I often wonder how someone who gets so distracted she forgets to collect her arrows after scoring can manage to maintain focus to shoot as amazingingly as she does!

    • It’s not hard to do. After scoring and calculating and talking with friends, leaving those arrows behind is easy to forget. I get the playful third degree every time. For me, that was enough to pay attention to those arrows. It just reminds me that I shoot with a great group of people.

Leave a Reply

