A Hard, Dangerous Lesson Learned


“It is better to live your own destiny imperfectly than to live an imitation of somebody else’s life with perfection.” – Unknown (Click to Tweet)

When Gabriel and I first started shooting Traditional Archery, we really enjoyed the U-finish bows.  A few years ago, I learned a hard lesson after building one of these U-finish bows.

Let me explain how I finished this particular U-Finish Bow.  After sanding, I stained the entire bow using a Minwax stain.  I then spray painted the handle with a high gloss black and clear coated the entire bow with Polyurethane.  It looked great.

U-Finish Handle

We went to the Bass Pro Shop archery range to practice.  I shot this particular U-Finish bow several times before this day with no problems at all.  This day would be a different story.

It was a hot summer day in Las Vegas, Nevada and the air conditioner wasn’t working at the range.  My first few shots went well, but it didn’t take long until I started sweating.  I wiped my brow with my bow hand and proceeded to draw back the string.  The combination of the polyurethane, gloss spray paint, and my sweaty hands caused the bow to slip from my bow hand.  The bow swung back and cracked me in the eye.  It really hurt and everybody at the ranged looked to see if I was alright.  I played it off like it was no big deal and tried it again.  Once again, the bow slipped from my hand and smacked me right in the eye.  And once again it really hurt.

I went to the pro shop and asked if there was anything I could do to remedy the problem.  They directed me to a rubber wrap that I could use on the handle.  I believe that it was called, Gater Wrap.  It worked great.

I walked away with minor bruising around my eye and a severely damaged ego.  I know that things could have been much worse.  I am thankful that they weren’t.

Click here to visit our Website

Click here to visit our Website

About rasherquivers

Owner/Operator of Rasher Quivers www.RasherQuivers.com
This entry was posted in Archery Education and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

