Archery Form: Cloths That Bind


Backyard ArcheryI was testing out a new target in my garage on one of the colder days in Las Vegas.  I tossed on an old, raggedy insulated flannel and started shooting.

The flannel wasn’t tight fitting, but as I attempted to come to full draw, I noticed that my flannel would bind in the elbow restricting my arm movement.  With extra effort and focus, I was able to execute proper form.

This may seem like a small problem, but it can and will effect your shot.  If you are in a hunting situation, the last thing you need is to have to put forth extra attention to your form while the adrenaline is pumping.  In a competition situation, having to force your form over many shots would be fatiguing.

Practicing while wearing the clothing you are going to be shooting in is an important part of the preparation for any archery event.  I am very glad that I learned this during a practice session and not during an event.  It makes me wonder if it has affected me in the past, but I just didn’t notice.  This is another mistake that I will be prepared for in the future.

Click here to visit our Website

Click here to visit our Website

About rasherquivers

Owner/Operator of Rasher Quivers www.RasherQuivers.com
This entry was posted in Archery Education and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Archery Form: Cloths That Bind

  1. recurveemma says:

    This always seems to be a problem for me when I forget to take off my jacket! It is funny how you don’t think about it sometimes until something goes wrong.

  2. That’s why I never underestimate the experience of others. If I can learn from their mistakes, that will be less mistakes for me to make. I have been so lucky to have had such good and experienced influences in archery. It makes a huge difference.

Leave a Reply

