Archery: Goals and Expectations


 

“What you get by achieving your goals is not as important as what you become by achieving your goals.” – Henry David Thoreau (Click to Tweet)

Jason ArcheryToday was week four of my winter archery league at Pacific Archery.  The evening started off so good and turned out to be so bad.  What’s worse is that the only thing that I took from the evening was that there are just going to be days like this.

From the get-go, I was jammin’.  I was pounding them into the yellow one after the other before the league started.  Once the league begins, the first two ends are practice.  My first end scored a 10 – 10 – 10. Awesome!!!!  But it was just a practice round.  My second end scored 10 – 9 – 9. Still very good for me, even for a practice round.

Now, we play three games.  Each game has three ends.  Each end is three arrows.  So the highest score you can get is 120 on each game and 360 for the night.  I scored 90 on my first game, which was great.  In fact it was my best game ever.  It was all downhill from there.

Something got lost in my form and I couldn’t figure it out.  The second game I scored 71.  Not great, but just a little below my average.  But wait!!  There’s more!!!!

The last end got even worse.  I still couldn’t figure out what I was doing wrong.  Everything I shot was four inches high.  Why?  The very last end scored a 64.  Back to the drawing board.  This score was the same as my average last season.  Just bad..

This season was still OK so far.

  • Week one I scored 211.
  • Week two I scored 233.
  • Week three I scored 242.
  • Week four I scored 225.

My goal for this season is 260.

I am thankful for that first game tonight.  It made my final score look better than it should have been.  I still don’t know where I went wrong.  It just goes to show you, that you can lose it all on any given Wednesday.

Another way to look at it…
Just a few years ago, I was lucky if I ever hit the target. Now I am disappointed if I miss the yellow rings.  I think that’s a good place to be.  My, how my expectations have changed.  Remember that your archery journey is your own.  It’s a never-ending pursuit for that perfect shot.  If you continue to set goals and work to achieve them, YOUR personal expectations will change as well.

Let us know how you measure your success by commenting below.

cropped-websitebannergradient.jpg

About rasherquivers

Owner/Operator of Rasher Quivers www.RasherQuivers.com
This entry was posted in Archery Education and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

