The Robin Hooded Arrow – Good or Bad?


arrows in targetWe all know the tail of Robin Hood and his ability to split an arrow with his arrow on command.  It seems though that many are still confused as to what it is to actually Robin Hood an arrow.  Please allow me to clarify.  First, an arrow must be shot into the bulls-eye on the target.  Then, a second arrow is shot that splits the arrow that is already in the bulls-eye.  If you split an arrow that is not in the bulls-eye, then it is NOT a Robin Hood.

Don’t get me wrong.  A lot of things have to come together to split an arrow no matter where it is placed.  The two shots must be performed without a single variant.  Your point of aim must be exactly the same as the previous shot.  Your arrows must be tuned with pinpoint accuracy.  All aspects of your form must mimic the previous shot perfectly.  Splitting an arrow is no easy task, but it is more times than not, an act of random luck.  Good or bad depending on how you look at it.

Those of us who have actually accomplished this task on random occasions, know that it is not all it’s cut out to be.  Sure, there is excitement at first, but it doesn’t take long for reality to set in.  The realization that we just lost an expensive arrow quickly overrides the joy of the accomplishment.  Maybe it was an arrow that you spent a long time crafting.  Either way, the arrow is ruined and you are out time or money.

An archers ultimate goal is to obtain the ability and talent to achieve the consistent accuracy needed to split an arrow at will.  For many of us though, we limit the amount of arrows we shoot into a single target to prevent the Robin Hoods.  You cannot practice for that kind of consistency if you do not have any arrows.  So, my conclusion is that the ability to shoot a Robin Hooded arrow at will is a wonderful thing to achieve, but the actual act of doing so is not.  Let us know what you think by leaving a comment below.

cropped-websitebannergradient.jpg

About rasherquivers

Owner/Operator of Rasher Quivers www.RasherQuivers.com
This entry was posted in Archery Education and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Robin Hooded Arrow – Good or Bad?

  1. To me, being able to “pull off” a Robin Hood is like a pipe dream. I occassionally do achieve it by accident, but I don’t think I’ve ever made it intentionally. And yes, I do believe one of the reasons I have never really put my mind to it is that I was worried about ruining the arrows. Perhaps I should buy a few extra with the intention of destroying them, maybe paint them a certain color to sort of indicate to myself “this arrow is marked for death” :) Maybe this way it’ll be easier to overcome the problem.

    Thanks for the post.

    • “Marked for Death.” I like that. For me, It is not about the Robin Hood. It’s all about hitting what I aim at every time, and I still have such a long way to go on that one. However, If you were to put a competitors arrow in the bulls-eye, their arrow would be my next target. I’m just not that good, YET!! LOL

Leave a Reply

